E-Comm announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Vancouver, B.C.—E-Comm announced its new Board of Directors today, following the company’s Annual General Meeting. Because of physical distancing measures required during the COVID-19 pandemic, E-Comm held its Annual General Meeting virtually, for the first time in the company’s 21-year history.

Shareholders have named six new board members, with the remaining members designated by shareholders reconfirmed by their nominating entities for another term. The shareholder nominated directors appointed four independent directors:  incumbents Doug Campbell, Barry Forbes and Denise Nawata, together with Nancy Kotani, newly elected as an independent director after a search process overseen by the Company’s Governance Committee.

Doug Campbell returns as Board Chair, a position he has held since 2016. During today’s online meeting, Campbell acknowledged the exceptional work of E-Comm staff and the first-responder community during the COVID-19 pandemic. “On behalf of the Board, I want to thank everyone at E-Comm for their ongoing dedication and efforts to provide continuous emergency communications services to the citizens of our province and first responders in these exceptional and unusual circumstances,” said Campbell. “Whatever the new norm brings us, we know our professional emergency communications team is ready for the task.”

The Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing the company’s strategic planning and direction, finances and operating results. Management is accountable to the Board of Directors for day-to-day operations and administration.

E-Comm shareholders nominate Board members who provide extensive knowledge and experience to the company through their work on the Board and as members of the Board’s standing committees.

2020-2021 E-Comm Board of Directors

Independent Directors nominated by the E-Comm Board

Doug CampbellBoard Chair
Barry Forbes
Nancy Kotani
Denise Nawata

DirectorsNominee of
Aniz AlaniCity of Abbotsford
Lori HallsProvincial Government
Lois KarrRCMP
Joe KeithleyCities of Burnaby, Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Village of Belcarra
Melanie KerrCity of Delta/Delta Police Board
Warren LemckeVancouver Police Board
Neil LilleyBC Emergency Health Services
Gayle MartinCities of Langley, Surrey and White Rock, Township of Langley
Bill McNultyCity of Richmond
Paul MochrieCity of Vancouver
Mike MordenCities of Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows
Paul MochrieCity of Vancouver
Mike MordenCities of Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows
Mark SiebenProvincial Government
Richard WaltonCity of North Vancouver, District of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, Village of Lions Bay
Mike WelteIndependent Police Boards (Abbotsford, New Westminster, Port Moody, Transit Police, West Vancouver)

A second board seat, nominated by the Cities of Burnaby, Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody and Village of Belcarra, is to be filled later.

About E-Comm

E-Comm is the first point of contact for 9-1-1 callers in 25 regional districts in British Columbia and provides dispatch services for more than 70 police agencies and fire departments. E‐Comm also owns and operates the largest multi‐jurisdictional, tri‐service, wide‐area radio network in the province used by police, fire and ambulance personnel throughout Metro Vancouver and parts of the Fraser Valley. In 2019, E-Comm received more than 1.84 million 9-1-1 calls in B.C. and answered 97 per cent of those calls in five seconds or less.


Media Contact

Jasmine Bradley
E-Comm Corporate Communications