E-Comm has 26 Class A shareholders holding 37 Class A shares. E-Comm also has 16 Class B shareholders holding 18 Class B shares. Class A shareholders are part of the E-Comm radio network and are bound by the terms and conditions of the Members’ Agreement (Special Users Agreement for the RCMP). A Class B share secures the shareholder future radio network access.

Members that are actively using the wide-area radio system receive one Class A share for each participating service using the radio system.

In order to protect the rights of Metro Vancouver municipalities that will want to use the radio service, Class B shares are issued for each service that intends to use the radio system but is not participating at the present time. Therefore, municipalities may hold a combination of Class A and Class B shares.

As with any corporation, shareholders appoint a Board of Directors to make certain decisions on behalf of the shareholders. However, there are certain decisions that will be the responsibility of Member organizations:

  • amendment of the purposes of the corporation
  • cost-sharing formulae for new services
  • amendments to the existing cost share formula for services
  • amendments relating to the conditions for admitting new members
  • amendments relating to processes for appointing directors
  • winding up or dissolution of the company

Members holding Class A shares also vote on the following issues:

  • amendments to the existing cost share program
  • borrowings exceeding those set forth in the authorized annual operating budget of capital budget
  • any matter which is referred to the member holding Class A shares by the Board of Directors

The following is the list of members of E-Comm, and the shares that each holds:

E-Comm is governed under the Emergency Communications Corporations Act (1997) and incorporated under the BC Business Corporations Act. As a cost-recovery model, E-Comm is not structured to make a profit.