NEWS RELEASE: E-Comm announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Vancouver, B.C.—E-Comm announced its new Board of Directors today, following the company’s Annual General Meeting. Because of physical distancing measures required during the COVID-19 pandemic, E-Comm held its Annual General Meeting virtually, for the first time in the company’s 21-year history.

Shareholders have named six new board members, with the remaining members designated by shareholders reconfirmed by their nominating entities for another term. The shareholder nominated directors appointed four independent directors:  incumbents Doug Campbell, Barry Forbes and Denise Nawata, together with Nancy Kotani, newly elected as an independent director after a search process overseen by the Company’s Governance Committee.

Doug Campbell returns as Board Chair, a position he has held since 2016. During today’s online meeting, Campbell acknowledged the exceptional work of E-Comm staff and the first-responder community during the COVID-19 pandemic. “On behalf of the Board, I want to thank everyone at E-Comm for their ongoing dedication and efforts to provide continuous emergency communications services to the citizens of our province and first responders in these exceptional and unusual circumstances,” said Campbell. “Whatever the new norm brings us, we know our professional emergency communications team is ready for the task.”

The Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing the company’s strategic planning and direction, finances and operating results. Management is accountable to the Board of Directors for day-to-day operations and administration.

E-Comm shareholders nominate Board members who provide extensive knowledge and experience to the company through their work on the Board and as members of the Board’s standing committees.

2020-2021 E-Comm Board of Directors

Independent Directors nominated by the E-Comm Board

Doug Campbell Board Chair
Barry Forbes  
Nancy Kotani  
Denise Nawata  


Directors Nominee of
Aniz Alani City of Abbotsford
Lori Halls Provincial Government
Lois Karr RCMP
Joe Keithley Cities of Burnaby, Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Village of Belcarra
Melanie Kerr City of Delta/Delta Police Board
Warren Lemcke Vancouver Police Board
Neil Lilley BC Emergency Health Services
Gayle Martin Cities of Langley, Surrey and White Rock, Township of Langley
Bill McNulty City of Richmond
Paul Mochrie City of Vancouver
Mike Morden Cities of Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows
Paul Mochrie City of Vancouver
Mark Sieben Provincial Government
Richard Walton City of North Vancouver, District of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, Village of Lions Bay
Mike Welte Independent Police Boards (Abbotsford, New Westminster, Port Moody, Transit Police, West Vancouver)

A second board seat, nominated by the Cities of Burnaby, Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody and Village of Belcarra, is to be filled later.

About E-Comm

E-Comm is the first point of contact for 9-1-1 callers in 25 regional districts in British Columbia and provides dispatch services for more than 70 police agencies and fire departments. E‐Comm also owns and operates the largest multi‐jurisdictional, tri‐service, wide‐area radio network in the province used by police, fire and ambulance personnel throughout Metro Vancouver and parts of the Fraser Valley. In 2019, E-Comm received more than 1.84 million 9-1-1 calls in B.C. and answered 97 per cent of those calls in five seconds or less.


Media Contact

Jasmine Bradley
E-Comm Corporate Communications