NEWS RELEASE: E-Comm announces 2021-22 Board of Directors with new seat for Vancouver Island

Vancouver— E-Comm’s Board of Directors has grown to 22 members with a new seat representing the central and southern Vancouver Island region.

Earlier this year, the E-Comm Board amended its Members Agreement to include a new Board member, now that E-Comm operates the 9-1-1 call-taking and police dispatch centre in Saanich. That facility, built by the Capital Regional District, opened in 2019.

Victoria Police Department Deputy Chief Constable Colin Watson will serve on the E-Comm Board as the Vancouver Island director, nominated by the Capital Regional District and E-Comm’s southern Vancouver Island police agency partners.

Overall, E-Comm shareholders have named four new Board members (a fifth new member will be named later). The remaining Board members are returning for another term. E-Comm confirmed the Directors today (Sept. 23) at its Annual General Meeting held online for the second year in a row because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Doug Campbell returns as Board Chair, a position he has held since 2016. During today’s meeting, Campbell acknowledged these are difficult times for emergency communications and first responders.

“To say this summer was extraordinary in terms of the demand and strain on emergency services in B.C. is an understatement,” said Campbell. “From record heatwaves and devastating forest fires to staff shortages, those who answer and dispatch emergency calls across all sectors have been stretched to the limit. And, the ongoing pandemic has not made things any easier.”

Campbell said the E-Comm Board fully supports efforts across all emergency services providers to work on solutions to improve emergency response times for the public.

The Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing the company’s strategic planning and direction, finances and operating results. Management is accountable to the Board of Directors for day-to-day operations and administration.

E-Comm shareholders and other stakeholders nominate Board members who provide extensive knowledge and experience to the company through their work on the Board and as members of the Board’s standing committees.

2021-2022 Board of Directors

Directors Nominee of
Aniz Alani City of Abbotsford
Lois Karr RCMP
Joe Keithley Cities of Burnaby, Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Village of Belcarra (Seat 1 of 2)
Melanie Kerr  City of Delta/Delta Police Board
Warren Lemcke Vancouver Police Board
Nancy McCurrach* Cities of Burnaby, New West, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody, Village of Belcarra (Seat 2 of 2)
Jen McCutcheon Metro Vancouver and TransLink
Nicole MacDonald* Cities of Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows
Bill McNulty City of Richmond
Paul Mochrie City of Vancouver
Tara Richards Provincial Government
Mark Sieben Provincial Government
Richard Walton City of North Vancouver, District of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, Village of Lions Bay
Terry Waterhouse Cities of Surrey, Langley and White Rock, Township of Langley (Seat 1 of 2)
Colin Watson* Capital Regional District and E-Comm’s Southern Vancouver Island police agency partners
Mike Welte Independent Police Boards (Abbotsford, New Westminster, Port Moody, Transit Police, West Vancouver)
Ed Wolfe* Cities of Langley, Surrey and White Rock, Township of Langley (Seat 2 of 2)
Vacant* BC Emergency Health Services

A new representative for BC Emergency Health Services is to be named later.

Independent Directors nominated by the E-Comm Board

Doug Campbell Board Chair
Barry Forbes
Nancy Kotani
Denise Nawata

*new directors appointed on September 23, 2021


Media Contact

[email protected]


About E-Comm

E-Comm is the first point of contact for 9-1-1 callers in 25 regional districts in British Columbia and provides dispatch services for more than 70 police agencies and fire departments across the province. E‐Comm also owns and operates the largest multi‐jurisdictional, tri‐service, wide‐area radio network in the province used by police, fire and ambulance personnel throughout Metro Vancouver and parts of the Fraser Valley. For more information about E-Comm, please visit