NEWS RELEASE: E-Comm announces its 2012-13 Board of Directors

Vancouver, B.C. — E-Comm, southwest British Columbia’s emergency communication centre, is pleased to announce its 2012-2013 board of directors. The board is comprised of 18 directors and includes elected officials, representatives of emergency services and the provincial government, along with municipal staff and local community and business leaders from across Metro Vancouver.

“The group of community leaders on our board representing governments and public-safety agencies will lead us into the first year of our new strategic plan, Vision 2020. This plan will guide E-Comm as we work to help create safer communities through excellence in public-safety communications,” says David Guscott, E-Comm president and CEO. “I’m confident the expertise, experience and insight our board brings will successfully guide us as we implement our plan.”

E-Comm shareholders appointed the board at its annual general meeting today in Vancouver.

2012-2013 Board of Directors: (in alphabetical order)

  • Jocelyn Kelley, Independent director, remains as Board Chair
  • Penny Ballem – City manager, City of Vancouver (representing City of Vancouver)
  • Helen Blackburn – Independent director
  • Mike Clay – Mayor, City of Port Moody (representing independent police boards – West Vancouver, Port Moody, New Westminster, Abbotsford, Transit Police)
  • Ernie Daykin – Mayor, District of Maple Ridge (representing District of Maple Ridge and City of Pitt Meadows
  • Rebecca Denlinger – Fire and Emergency Management Commissioner of BC (representing Ministry of Justice)
  • Diana Dilworth – Councillor, City of Port Moody (representing Village of Belcarra, City of Port Coquitlam, City of Coquitlam, City of New Westminster and City of Port Moody)
  • Charlie Fox – Councillor, Township of Langley (representing Township of Langley, City of White Rock, City of Surrey)
  • Len Garis – Fire chief, City of Surrey (representing City of Surrey, Township of Langley, City of White Rock)
  • Lois Jackson – Mayor, Corporation of Delta (representing Corporation of Delta)
  • Michael MacDougall – President, Emergency Health Services Commission and Executive Vice-President, Provincial Health Services Authority (representing Emergency Health Services Commission)
  • Ernie Malone  – RCMP, retired  (representing the Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
  • Bill McNulty – Councillor, City of Richmond (representing City of Richmond)
  • Darrell Mussatto – Mayor, City of North Vancouver (representing City of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, District of North Vancouver)
  • Clayton Pecknold  – Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Branch, Ministry of Justice (representing Ministry of Justice)
  • Bob Rolls – Vancouver Police Department, retired (representing the Vancouver Police Board)
  • Sheldon Stoilen – Independent director
  • Glenn Wong – Independent director


E-Comm 9-1-1 answers almost one million 9-1-1 calls each year for Metro Vancouver, the Sunshine Coast, Whistler, Squamish and the southern portion of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, provides dispatch services to 30 police and fire departments, and operates the wide-area radio system used throughout Metro Vancouver by police, fire and ambulance personnel.

 Media contact:

Jody Robertson
E-Comm 9-1-1
604-215-4956 or 604-640-1342 (pager)
[email protected]