NEWS RELEASE: E-Comm announces 2013-14 board of directors

Vancouver, B.C. —E-Comm, southwest British Columbia’s emergency communications centre, is pleased to announce its 2013-2014 board of directors. The board was appointed by shareholders at E-Comm’s Annual General Meeting today.

E-Comm’s board is comprised of 18 directors and includes elected officials, representatives of emergency services and the provincial government, along with municipal staff and local community and business leaders from across Metro Vancouver.

“Each member of our board brings distinct experience, extensive knowledge and a shared vision that aligns with our organization. I am confident this multi-talented group will bring us further in our success as we move into the second year of our strategic plan, Vision 2020,” says David Guscott, E-Comm president and CEO. “Representing governments and public-safety agencies, the board will support us as we help create safer communities through excellence in public-safety communication.”

2013-2014 Board of Directors:

  • Jocelyn Kelley, Independent Director, also appointed Board Chair
  • Penny Ballem – City manager, City of Vancouver (representing City of Vancouver)
  • Alan Campbell – Councillor, White Rock (representing City of White Rock, Township of Langley, City of Surrey)
  • Mike Clay – Mayor, City of Port Moody (representing independent police boards – West Vancouver, Port Moody, New Westminster, Abbotsford, Transit Police)
  • Ernie Daykin – Mayor, District of Maple Ridge (representing District of Maple Ridge and City of Pitt Meadows)
  • Diana Dilworth – Councillor, City of Port Moody (representing Village of Belcarra, City of Port Coquitlam, City of Coquitlam, City of New Westminster and City of Port Moody)
  • Barry Forbes  – Independent Director
  • Len Garis – Fire chief, City of Surrey (representing City of Surrey, Township of Langley, City of White Rock)
  • Michael MacDougall – President, Emergency Health Services Commission and Executive Vice-President, Provincial Health Services Authority (representing Emergency Health Services Commission)
  • W. Fraser MacRae – Assistant Commissioner, RCMP (retired); (representing Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
  • Gayle Martin  Councillor, City of Langley (representing Metro Vancouver)
  • Bill McNulty – Councillor, City of Richmond (representing City of Richmond)
  • Darrell Mussatto – Mayor, City of North Vancouver (representing City of North Vancouver, District of West Vancouver, District of North Vancouver)
  • Clayton Pecknold  – Assistant Deputy Minister, Policing and Community Safety Branch, Ministry of Justice (representing Ministry of Justice)
  • Karl Preuss – Director of Finance, Corporation of Delta
  • Bob Rolls – Deputy Chief, Vancouver Police Department (retired); (representing Vancouver Police Board)
  • Sheldon Stoilen – Independent director
  • Glenn Wong – Independent Director


E-Comm 9-1-1 answers almost one million 9-1-1 calls each year for Metro Vancouver, the Sunshine Coast, Whistler, Squamish and the southern portion of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, provides dispatch services to 30 police and fire departments, and operates the wide-area radio network used throughout Metro Vancouver by police, fire and ambulance personnel.  

Media contact:

Jody Robertson
E-Comm 9-1-1
604-215-4956 or 604-640-1342 (pager)
[email protected]